20 countries yet to record coronavirus case

Amidst the growing coronavirus pandemic, about 20 countries are yet to report a case of the virus.

Despite not having a single case, preventive measures have been put in place by these to ensure the virus does not spread to them.

There are seven continents: Asia, Africa, Europe, Australia, North America, South America, and Antarctica. Antarctica is least inhabited with a population of between 1,000 and 5,000 depending on season. There is no reported case of the virus there so far.


According to worldometer, which gives real time statistics on the outbreak, in Africa, as Friday afternoon, eight countries have not recorded a single case while 46 have confirmed cases. There are more than 2700 confirmed cases in Africa, 75 deaths, and 208 recoveries.

The eight countries are Botswana, Burundi, Lesotho, Malawi, Sao Tome and Principe, Sierra Leone, and South Sudan. Notwithstanding their zero cases, they have put in place safety precautions to ensure their preparedness in fighting the virus.


In Asia, North Korea, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, and Yemen are yet to report cases although preventive measures have been put in place.

Yemen, where conflicts continue to brew, has been warned by the UN chief to put in place adequate contingency measures.

“This is an evolving situation, one that requires cautions and level headedness regarding the health and well-being of staff, partners and Yemeni communities,” the resident representative said.



There are 10 countries and 7 territories that are yet to confirm cases.

Australia has the highest number in the continent with a total of 3166 confirmed cases. The countries are Solomon Islands, Vanuatu, Samao, Kribati, Micronesia, Tonga, Marshall Islands, Palau, Tovalu, and Naura, while the territories are Guam, Northern Marianna Islands, American Samao, Cook Islands, Wallis and Futuna, Niue, and Tokelau.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.